Change of plans

I wish I had taken a picture of dinner last night because it was delish. My crockpot stuffed bell peppers were a success!! The Hubs really liked them too despite the ground turkey. 😉 The recipe was quite simple too:

Crockpot stuffed peppers

1 lb 3.6 oz ground turkey (this is what I used because I buy it in bulk and separate it into freezer bags then weigh them)

1 1/2 -2 cups cooked brown rice (depending if you like more or less)

1/2 an onion, chopped

5 green bell peppers

1 jar of marinara sauce ( I usually make my own but I used Newman’s Own for the sake of easy and fast)

salt + pepper + garlic salt to taste

1 -2 tbsp olive oil

Saute your onions in the olive oil until soft and translucent. I love carmelized onions to I browned them a bit too. Meanwhile, cut the tops of the bell peppers. I used a paring knife and just cut around the stem. Remove the top and as much of the inside veins as you can. Once they are all hollowed out, rinse the inside to get all the seeds and place open side down on a paper towel or cutting board to drain. Next, mix your turkey with the cooked rice and add salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Onyl I didn’t taste raw turkey. I just eye balled. Add the sauteed onions and mix well. Then, stuff the peppers with the turkey mixture and place in the Crock pot open side up. Once they are all in, pour the marinara sauce over it. Put the lid on it and cook on low for 8-10 hours. if you cook on high, it will probably take 4 -5 hours. When serving spoon some marinara sauce over the peppers.

I served this with some extra rice and summer squash sauteed in Garlic Gold.

Tonight’s dinner, however, has had a change of plans. I was going to make green chile pork, but my son did not clean my Crock pot last night and I started to this morning but it was just too much work. So back to the drawing board on that one. I am thinking tonight might be a shrimp and pasta night after perusing this recipe from The Pioneer Woman. We shall see what I decide by the time I get home.

Do you get deterred from your original dinner plan easily?

Obviously, I do. If I don’t have the right dish or am missing a certain ingredient then yes, I sometimes go another route. I am not sure why, it just seems to loose its appeal somehow. 

About Rebecca Cruz

I am a 30 something working mother and wife trying to get healthy while getting everything together!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

