Healthy habit #1

Good morning blogworld!

I guess this blog thing is not going so well, eh? Ha ha I was feeling pretty bad last week and I struggled through the weekend to try and feel better as there were outings to go to, friends to hang out with and attics to get cleaned. Thanks to Mucinex and Claritin-D, I’m almost normal again. 🙂

Even with all this I am quite excited about something this week. Lets back track a bit. About two years ago I was on a straight and awesome track to eating healthy. I would plan, shop and prepare. I never missed breakfast, I cooked about 75% of our meals and I exercised regularly. About a year ago,  I was struggling but I was managing to maintain the weight loss I had before. Then somewhere between last October and this March (the wedding) all healthy sensibility went out the window. Since the end of March I’ve been desperately WANTING to get back to that happy place of two years ago. I can’t say I’ve been desperately trying though.

Well, this week I have starting one of my healthy habits and I am going to try “desperately” to keep it up. The planning part. Planning really does help meals go more smoothly. Monday night we did not plan at all. I confess, I was all ready to go to Whataburger because we had been cleaning out the attic all afternoon and it was getting late. We had to eat and we didn’t really have time for me to fix something. Or so I thought. Then, my husband suggests we cook some steaks. I wasn’t exactly in the mood for steak so I crinkled my nose a little. In the end I obliged because he offered to cook them. While he prepped the steaks I sauteed some onions and boiled some gnocchi. In about 30 mins we had a lovely steak dinner with lemon butter gnocchi. I did plan ahead that night. I decided to defrost some short ribs and stick them in the crockpot the next day.

Crockpots (aka slow cookers) are such nifty kitchen gadgets. It saves so much time. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately since I have a son who will be playing sports and that means one day a week where our routine will be disrupted (read= turned upside down). So I decided to test my little Crockpot’s usefulness. I have one similar to this but different design:

It’s very basic. Now, I would love one like this:

I actually had one like this, if not this one, on my wedding registry. However, people apparently really wanted me to have the power blender instead. Who am I to interfere with what other people want for me?

Anyway, so until I get that one I have my basic one. Which is quite fine.  So yesterday I felt so overcome with some sort of accomplishment that dinner was halfway done when I’d get home. All I had to do was make some mashed potatoes and a veggie. I decided to look up some other Crockpot recipes. I came up with ideas for today and tomorrow’s dinner as well! Well look at productive little old me! I went to the store yesterday to get my ingredients and I set dinner #2 to cook this morning: stuffed bell peppers. I have no idea how they will turn out. I made them with ground turkey and brown rice since it is what I had. I figured I’d serve a salad or sauteed veggies with it and maybe a little more rice on the side for the sauce. My kids love rice. I am quite excited about tomorrow’s dinner as well! Probably the best of the 3!

So, I think I am going to be using my trusty old little Crockpot more to help me make quick easy dinners. I just need to do a little more planning of my weekly menu. Now that Fall is coming, that opens the door to soups and stews too which my family loves as well.

What do you consider your healthy habit #1? That habit that helps get you back on track?

About Rebecca Cruz

I am a 30 something working mother and wife trying to get healthy while getting everything together!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

