What I do for Love

Good afternoon!! I am not quite sure how I am going to model my blog. I don’t know if I will in fact show everything I eat, because methinks that might get boring. Once something works for me or I like it, I pretty much stick to it. I’m a Taurus, what can I say, I don’t like change.  Perhaps I will do it for a few days or a week just so you get the gist of what I eat.  Then, as I progress maybe I will post only new things that I try or find. Any suggestions of what you would like to see? We shall see what the evolution of 30 something will be.

So, this morning started out good and bad. My husband has to be at work by 6 am so his alarm clocks (yes plural) start going off around 4:30 am. I’ve begged him to change this and he doesn’t comply. Mind you, I actually can be a very heavy sleeper and I ignore sounds (especially talking) very well. However, this morning I guess I had enough sleep (went to bed at like 9:30 pm) and there was no ignoring or sleeping through his alarms. I got up like a good little wife and made the husband an egg sandwich and a green monster minus the green. We were out of spinach. Heh heh I reminded him not to forget his green monster again. Guess wha? He forgot it.

So after doing my wifely duties, I proceeded to get dressed to go to the gym. Now at this point, actually right when I woke up, I realized I was under the weather. My throat was kind of scratchy. I clearly had a congestion thing going on plus a runny nose. Hubs has been feeling “sick” since last week. He did go to the doctor last Thursday and they ran a pnuemonia test and it wasn’t that. They said it might be a sinus infection so they gave him Amoxicillan. Hmmm. I’ve had sinus infections before…in fact twice in the past year…and he never caught it from me. Interesting. 

Anyway, I procrastinated as long as I could and I headed to the gym. I had planned on a) wogging 2 miles and b) doing intervals of 90 sec run and walk followed by a 3 min run and walk x2 then 2 min run and walk intervals until hitting 2 miles. Once I started running…I felt like I hit a brick wall. My chest felt like it was just struggling for air and my legs felt like lead. It was horrible! I could not do a run interval longer than 2 1/2 mins. So, I decided to call it a day at 30 minutes which = 1.55 miles. That includes my warmup, intervals and cool down. I am slow, bear with me. Hopefully, Friday will be better. I did not take a picture, but I had some coffee, an egg and a piece of toast with smart balance light and cinnamon for breakfast.

Then, for lunch I had these leftovers:

Delicious. Last night I cooked up some turkey in Garlic Gold with onion and italian herbs.I also threw in kernels from 2 ears of corn I bought last week and a small zucchini I probably bought the same day. They needed to be used. I am tired of wasting produce.   Then, I made a semi-fresh tomato sauce out of a can of whole stewed tomatoes whirled in the blended to be smooth like my kiddos like it. Now that I think about it I should have added my mushrooms from last week too! Gah! I have found I can all almost anything I want to my homemade pasta sauce and my kids barely notice. As long as it is blended, if they don’t see it they don’t taste it. So I threw that with some boiled pasta and then baked it. I baked in two layers topping each layer with mozzarella cheese. About 4 oz total. It was delicious and except for the cheese, relatively healthy. Last night we paired the pasta with a big green salad but today I just ate a banana with it. Still yum.

I ate my lunch then I headed to Target for some necessities and ended up with somethings I didn’t need but wanted. Such is life. About mid-afternoon I decided it was time for a little snack:

Enter my favorite mid-afternoon snack. Oikos yogurt (this one was caramel), a chopped gala apple, some granola, some raw oats, a drizzle of agave and sprinkle of cinnamon. Mmmm, mmmm, mmmmm!! Party in my mouth I tell you.

Tonight the hubs has shuffleboard, so its just me and the boys. I am not quite sure what will become of dinner. It will be a Wednesday surprise!

The reason I got up this morning and was a “good little wife” is because otherwise my husband will not eat breakfast and I am convinced it is totally screwing up his metabolism plus thats why he is so tired once home. It requires an effort from me, but I really want to get him on the right track. Is there anything you do to help your husband or significant other (for love) to eat better or more consistently? 

About Rebecca Cruz

I am a 30 something working mother and wife trying to get healthy while getting everything together!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

